Oct 24, 2020  
Graduate Catalog 2019-2020 
    
Graduate Catalog 2019-2020 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


Summer Semester 2020 Fall Semester 2020


Fall and spring terms are 16 weeks in length: Fall starts around late August or early September and goes through mid December.  Spring starts around early January and goes through mid-May.  Summer sessions vary in length from 4 weeks to 12 weeks, May through August, with classes typically meeting Monday through Friday.  Courses are available on the main campus in Madison, in Sioux Falls and online. 

Fall 2019 Academic Calendar

Aug. 23 (Fri) 8:00 a.m. Residence Halls open for First Year students only
New student orientation activities begin
Aug. 24-25 (Sat-Sun) 8:00 a.m. Residence Halls open for all students
Aug. 26 (Mon) 8:00 a.m. Classes begin
Sept. 2 (Mon) Labor Day - no classes
Sept. 5 (Thur)

Census Day - Last day to register for any fall class to determine financial aid eligibility

Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund.

Sept. 6 (Fri) Tuition and Fees - deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment.
Oct. 11 (Fri)

Last day of first half semester classes
Last day to apply for Fall 2019 graduation

Oct. 14 (Mon) Native American Day - no classes
Oct. 23 (Wed) Mid-term deficiency grades due
Oct. 28-Nov. 15 Tentative dates for continuing students pre-registration for Spring 2020.
Oct. 30 (Wed) Last day a student may withdraw from the University (all courses) and be eligible for a partial refund of University charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regents policy
Nov. 8 (Fri) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges.
Nov. 11 (Mon) Veterans Day holiday observed - no classes
Nov. 27-Dec. 1 (Wed-Sun) Thanksgiving holiday - no classes; Please note: Tuesday, November 26, evening classes will be held
Dec. 2 (Mon) Classes resume
Dec. 11 (Wed) No classes
Dec. 12-18 (Thur-Wed) Final Examination Period
Dec. 14 (Sat) Master's Hooding Ceremony, DPP, 9:00 a.m.; Commencement - Fieldhouse - 10:30 a.m.
Dec. 18 (Wed) Semester ends; Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m.
Dec. 26 (Thurs) Final grades due @ 8:00 A.M.


Fall 2019 Final Exam Schedule
December 12-18 (Thursday-Wednesday)

Schedule for Classes meeting on Monday, Wednesday, Friday combinations
(MWF, M, W, MW, WF, MTWTh, MTWF, MTWThF, F)
Time class begins Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Monday December 16 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:00 A.M. Friday December 13 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
10:00 A.M. Monday December 16 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Friday December 13 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Friday December 13 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Monday December 16 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:00 P.M. Friday December 13 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
3:00 P.M. Monday December 16 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Wednesday December 18 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
Schedule of Classes meeting on Tuesday and Thursday combination (TTh, T, Th)
Time classes begin Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Tuesday December 17 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:30 A.M. Tuesday December 17 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Thursday December 12 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 A.M. Tuesday December 17 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Thursday December 12 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:30 P.M. Tuesday December 17 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Thursday December 12 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
  Courses beginning 5:00 P.M. and later will be held during their regular scheduled times


Spring 2020 Academic Calendar

Jan. 11 (Sat) 8:00 A.M. Residence halls open for all students
Jan 13 (Mon) 8:00 A.M. Classes begin
Jan. 20 (Mon) Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - no classes
Jan. 22 (Wed) CENSUS DAY
Last day to register for any fall class to determine financial aid eligibility
Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
Jan. 23 (Thur) Tuition and fees - deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
Feb. 7 (Fri) Last day to apply for Spring 2020 and Summer 2020 graduation
Feb. 17 (Mon) President's Day - no classes
Mar. 6 (Fri) Last day of first half semester classes
Mar. 7-15 (Sat-Sun) Spring break
Residence Halls close at 5:00 P.M. on Friday, March 6 and reopen 8:00 A.M. on Sunday, March 15
Mar. 18 (Wed) Mid-term deficient grades due
Mar. 23-April 9 (Mon-Thur) Continuing student pre-registration for Fall and Summer 2019 and Spring 2020 (tentative)
Mar. 28 (Sat) Last day a student can withdraw from the University (all courses) and be eligible for a partial refund of University charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regent's policy.
April 14 (Tue) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges.
April 10-13 (Fri-Mon) Easter Holiday - Please note Easter holiday begins 5:00 pm April 9.
April 14 (Tues) Classes Resume
May 4-8 (Mon-Fri) Final examination period; Semester ends; Residence Halls close at 3:00 P.M.
May 13 (Wed) Final grades due
Note: Dates and events are subject to change.  Changes will be communicated to campus via email and other means as appropriate.


Spring 2020 Final Exam Schedule
May 4-8

Schedule of classes meeting om Monday, Wednesday and Friday combinations
(MWF, M, W, MW, WF, MTWTh, MTWF, MTWThF, F)
Time class begins Date of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Monday May 4 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:00 A.M. Wednesday May 6 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
10:00 A.M. Monday May 4 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Wednesday May 6 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Friday May 8 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
1:00 P.M. Monday May 4 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:00 P.M. Wednesday May 6 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
3:00 P.M. Monday May 4 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Wednesday May 6 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
Schedule of classes meeting on Tuesday and Thursday combinations (TTh, T, Th)
Time class begins Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Tuesday May 5 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:30 A.M. Tuesday May 5 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Thursday May 7 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Tuesday May 5 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Thursday May 7 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:30 P.M. Tuesday May 5 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Thursday May 7 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
  Courses beginning 5:00 P.M. and later will be held during their regular scheduled times.


Summer 2020 Academic Calendar

May 18 (Mon) Full 12-week and first 6-week session begins
May 21 (Thur) Census date for first 6-week session;
Last day to add a class or drop a 6-week class with full refund
May 25 (Mon) Memorial Day - no classes
May 25 (Mon)

Census date for full 12-week class;
Last day to add a class or drop a 12-week class with full refund

June 3 (Wed) Last day to withdraw from all first 6-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
June 15 (Mon) Last day to withdraw with a "W" from first 6-week session - no refund
June 26 (Fri) First 6-week session ends;
Last day to withdraw from all full 12-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
June 29 (Mon) Second 6-week session beings
July 2 (Thur) Census date for second 6-week session;
Last day to add a class or drop a class with full refund
July 3-4 (Fri-Sat) Independence Day - no classes
July 15 (Wed) Last day to withdraw with a "W" from full 12-week session - no refund;
Last day to withdraw from all second 6-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
July 27 (Mon) Last day to withdraw with a "W" from second 6-week session - no refund
August 7 (Fri) Full 12-week and second 6-week sessions end
Note: No student will be required to participate in more than three evaluative activities on any one day of the final exam week.  Permission to reschedule a final evaluative activity should be sought before mid-semester if at all possible.  The student, after consulting with his or her advisor, should petition the dean(s) responsible for the activity to be changed by completing the "Final Week" form which is available on the DSU portal.  The dean will coordinate and approve the necessary rescheduling.  Any changes or deviations in the schedule for an individual student must have advance approval of the dean in which college the course is taught.

 

Fall 2020 Academic Calendar

Aug. 1-14 (Sat-Fri) Early Residence Halls move in by appointment
Aug. 15-18 (Sat-Tue) Residence Halls move in by appointment
Aug. 19 (Wed) Classes begin
TBA Tuition and Fees - Deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
Sept. 7 (Mon) Labor Day - classes in session
TBA Census Day - Last day to register for any fall class to determin financial aid eligibility; Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
Sept. 30 (Wed) Last day to apply for Fall 2020 graduation
Oct. 12 (Mon) Native American Day - classes in session
TBA Last day of first half semester classes
TBA Mid-term deficiency grades due
Oct. 19-Nov 6 (Mon-Fri) Tentative dates for continuing student pre-registration for spring & fall 2021
TBA Last day a student may withdraw from the University (all courses) and be eligible for a partial refund of University charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regents policy
TBA Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges
Nov. 11 (Wed) Veterans Day holiday observed - classes in session
Nov. 25 (Wed) No classes - Residence Halls closes
Nov. 26-27 (Thurs-Fri) Thanksgiving holiday - no classes
Nov. 30-Dec. 1 (Mon-Tues) No classes
Dec. 2-8 (Wed-Tues) Final examination period (Dec 2-4; Dec 7-8)
Dec 8 (Wed) Semester ends
TBA Final grades due

Note:  Dates and events are subject to change.  Changes will be communicated to campus via email, campus newspaper or other means as appropriate.