Aug 02, 2021  
Graduate Catalog (ARCHIVED) 2020-2021 
    
Graduate Catalog (ARCHIVED) 2020-2021 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar



Fall and spring terms are 16 weeks in length: Fall starts around late August or early September and goes through mid December.  Spring starts around early January and goes through mid-May.  Summer sessions vary in length from 4 weeks to 12 weeks, May through August, with classes typically meeting Monday through Friday.  Courses are available on the main campus in Madison, in Sioux Falls and online. 

Fall 2020 Academic Calendar

Aug. 1-14 (Sat-Fri) Early Residence Halls move in by appointment
Aug. 15-18 (Sat-Tue) Residence Halls move in by appointment
Aug. 19 (Wed) Classes begin
Aug. 23 (Sun) Last day to Add/Drop first 8-week course with 100% refund.
Aug. 28 (Fri) CENSUS DAY; Last day to register for any fall class to determine financial aid eligibilty; Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund.
Sept. 4 (Fri) Tuition and Fees - Deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
Sept. 7 (Mon) Labor Day - classes in session
Sept. 22 (Tue) Last day to withdraw from First 8-week course with "WD" grade
Sept. 30 (Wed)

Last day to apply for Fall 2020 graduation

Oct. 6 (Tue) Last day of first half semester classes
Oct, 7 (Wed) Second 8-week classes begin
Oct. 10 (Sat) Last day to add/drop Second 8-week course with full refund
Oct. 12 (Mon) Native American Day - classes in session
Oct. 14 (Wed) Mid-term deficiency grades due
Oct. 21 (Wed) Last day a student may withdraw from the University (all courses) and be eligible for a partial refund of University charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regents policy
Oct. 26-Nov. 13 (Mon-Fri) Tentative dates for continuing students pre-registration for Spring 2021, Summer 2021 and Fall 2021.
Oct. 30 (Fri) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges and receive a "WD" grade.
Nov. 10 (Tues) Last day to drop Second 8-week course with "WD" grade
Nov. 11 (Mon) Veterans Day holiday observed - classes in session
Nov. 25 (Wed) No classes - Residence Halls close
Nov. 26-27 (Thur-Fri) Thanksgiving holiday - no classes
Nov. 30-Dec 1 (Mon-Tue) No classes
Dec. 2-8 (Wed-Tue) Final Examination Period (Dec 2-4; Dec 7-8)
Dec. 8 (Tue) Semester ends
Dec. 11 (Fri) Final grades due


Fall 2020 Final Exam Schedule

December 2-8 (Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Monday, and Tuesday)

Schedule for Classes meeting on Monday, Wednesday, Friday combinations
(MWF, M, W, MW, WF, MTWTh, MTWF, MTWThF, F)
Time class begins Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Monday December 7 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:00 A.M. Friday December 4 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
10:00 A.M. Monday December 7 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Friday December 4 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Friday December 4 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Monday December 7 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:00 P.M. Friday December 4 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
3:00 P.M. Monday December 7 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Wednesday December 2 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
Schedule of Classes meeting on Tuesday and Thursday combination (TTh, T, Th)
Time classes begin Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Tuesday December 8 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:30 A.M. Tuesday December 8 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Thursday December 3 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 A.M. Tuesday December 8 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Thursday December 3 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:30 P.M. Tuesday December 8 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Thursday December 3 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
  Courses beginning 5:00 P.M. and later will be held during their regular scheduled times


Spring 2021 Academic Calendar

Jan. 9 (Sat) 8:00 A.M. Residence halls open for all students
Jan. 11 (Mon) 8:00 A.M. Classes begin
Jan. 18 (Mon) Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - no classes
Jan. 20 (Wed) CENSUS DAY
Last day to register for any fall class to determine financial aid eligibility
Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
Jan. 21 (Thur) Tuition and fees - deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
Feb. 5 (Fri) Last day to apply for Spring 2021 and Summer 2021 graduation
Feb. 15 (Mon) President's Day - no classes
Mar. 6-14 (Sat-Sun) Spring break
Residence Halls close at 5:00 P.M. on Friday, March 6 and reopen 8:00 A.M. on Sunday, March 15
Mar. 17 (Wed) Mid-term deficient grades due
Mar. 22-April 5 (Mon-Thur) Continuing student pre-registration for Summer 2021, Fall 21 and Spring 2022
Mar. 24 (Wed) Last day a student can withdraw from the University (all courses) and be eligible for a partial refund of University charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regent's policy.
April 6 (Tue) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges.
April 2-5 (Fri-Mon) Easter Holiday
April 6 (Tue) Classes resume
May 3-7 (Mon-Fri) Final examination period;
May 7 (Fri) Semester ends; Residence Halls close
May 8 (Sat) Commencement Ceremony-Beacom 9:00 a.m.; Hooding Ceremony 12:30 p.m.; Commencement Ceremony-A&S, BIS, Education 2:30 p.m.
May 12 (Wed) Final grades due
Note: Dates and events are subject to change.  Changes will be communicated to campus via email and other means as appropriate

Spring 2021 Final Exam Schedule

May 3-7

Schedule of classes meeting om Monday, Wednesday and Friday combinations
(MWF, M, W, MW, WF, MTWTh, MTWF, MTWThF, F)
Time class begins Date of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Monday May 3 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:00 A.M. Wednesday May 5 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
10:00 A.M. Monday May 3 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Wednesday May 5 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Friday May 7 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
1:00 P.M. Monday May 3 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:00 P.M. Wednesday May 5 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
3:00 P.M. Monday May 3 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Wednesday May 5 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
Schedule of classes meeting on Tuesday and Thursday combinations (TTh, T, Th)
Time class begins Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Tuesday May 4 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:30 A.M. Tuesday May 4 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Thursday May 6 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Tuesday May 4 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Thursday May 6 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:30 P.M. Tuesday May 4 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Thursday May 6 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
  Courses beginning 5:00 P.M. and later will be held during their regular scheduled times.


Summer 2021 Academic Calendar

May 17 (Mon) Full 12-week and first 6-week session begins
May 20 (Thur) Census date for first 6-week session;
Last day to add a class or drop a 6-week class with full refund
May 31 (Mon) Memorial Day - no classes
May 24 (Mon)

Census date for full 12-week class;
Last day to add a class or drop a 12-week class with full refund

June 2 (Wed) Last day to withdraw from all first 6-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
June 14 (Mon) Last day to withdraw with a "W" from first 6-week session - no refund
June 25 (Fri) First 6-week session ends;
Last day to withdraw from all full 12-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
June 28 (Mon) Second 6-week session beings
July 1 (Thur) Census date for second 6-week session;
Last day to add a class or drop a class with full refund
July 3-5 (Sat-Mon) Independence Day holiday - no classes
July 14 (Wed) Last day to withdraw with a "W" from full 12-week session - no refund;
Last day to withdraw from all second 6-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
July 26 (Mon) Last day to withdraw with a "W" from second 6-week session - no refund
August 6 (Fri) Full 12-week and second 6-week sessions end
August 20 (Fri) Last day of Summer semester
Note: No student will be required to participate in more than three evaluative activities on any one day of the final exam week.  Permission to reschedule a final evaluative activity should be sought before mid-semester if at all possible.  The student, after consulting with his or her advisor, should petition the dean(s) responsible for the activity to be changed by completing the "Final Week" form which is available on the DSU portal.  The dean will coordinate and approve the necessary rescheduling.  Any changes or deviations in the schedule for an individual student must have advance approval of the dean in which college the course is taught.

*If your section dates are not listed below, check your section-specific dates in your course syllabus or in Banner Self-Service Registration>Course Details.

Cenus = Last day to add or drop the course with a full refund
LDW = Last day to drop or withdraw from the course with no refund

  • DSU Full Summer Term = 5/17 - 8/6
    • Census = 5/24
    • LDW = 7/14
  • DSU Summer 1 = 5/17 - 6/25
    • Census = 5/20
    • LDW = 6/14
  • DSU Summer 2 = 6/28 - 8/6
    • Census = 7/1
    • LDW = 7/26
  • SDBOR Full Term = 5/10 - 8/20
    • Census = 5/19
    • LDW = 7/21

 

Fall 2021 Academic Calendar

Aug. 20 (Fri)

Residence Halls open for first year students
New Student Orientation Activities begin

Aug. 21 (Sat) Residence Halls open for all students
Aug. 23 (Mon) Classes begin
Sept. 2 (Thur) Census Day
Last day to register for any fall class to determine financial aid eligibility
Last day to add a full semester class
Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
Sept. 3 (Fri) Tuition and Fees - Deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
Sept. 6 (Mon) Labor Day - No classes
Sept. 24 (Fri) Last day to withdraw from first 8-week classes with WD grade
Oct. 1 (Fri) Last day to apply for Fall 2021 graduation
Oct. 11 (Mon) Native American Day - No classes
Oct. 13 (Wed) Last day of first half semester classes
Oct. 14 (Thur) Second 8-week classes begin
Last day to add/drop second 8-week course with full refund
Oct. 19-Nov 6

Tentative dates for continuing student pre-regisration for spring, summer and fall 2022

Oct. 21 (Thur) Mid-term deficiency grades due
Oct. 22 (Fri) Last day a student may withdraw from the University (all courses) and be eligible for a partial refund of university charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regents policy
Nov. 5 (Fri) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the university entirely with no refund of university charges
Nov. 11 (Thur) Veterans Day holiday - No classes
Nov. 24 (Wed) No classes
Nov. 25-26 (Thur-Fri) Thanksgiving holiday
Dec. 9-15 (Thur-Wed) Final Examination Period
Dec. 11 (Sat) Commencement events
Dec. 15 (Wed) Semester ends
Dec. 20 (Mon) Final grades due by midnight