Oct 25, 2021  
Undergraduate Catalog 2021-2022 
    
Undergraduate Catalog 2021-2022

Academic Calendar


Fall and spring terms are 16 weeks in length: Fall starts mid to late August and goes through mid December.  Spring starts around early January and goes through mid-May.  Summer sessions vary in length from 4 weeks to 12 weeks, May through August, with classes typically meeting Monday through Friday.

Courses are available on the main campus in Madison, Sioux Falls and distance through the Office of Online Education.

Note: No student will be required to participate in more than three evaluative activities on any one day of the final exam week.  Permission to reschedule a final evaluative activity should be sought before mid-semester if at all possible.  The student, after consulting with or advisor, should petition the dean responsible for the activity to be changed by completing the "Final Week" form which is available on the DSU portal.  The dean will coordinate and approve the necessary rescheduling.  Any changes or deviations in the schedule for an individual student must have advance approval of the dean in which the college the course is taught.

Note:  Dates and events are subject to change.  Changes will be communicated to campus via email, campus newspaper or other means as appropriate.

Fall 2021 Academic Calendar

Aug. 20 (Fri)

Residence Halls open for first year students
New Student Orientation activities begin

Aug. 21 (Sat) Residence Halls open for all students
Aug. 23 (Mon) Classes begin
First 8-week and Second 5-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
Sept. 2 (Thur) Census Date
Last day to register for any fall classes to determine financial aid eligibility
Last day to add a full semester class - Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
Sept. 3 (Fri) Tuition and Fees - Deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment.
Sept. 6 (Mon) Labor Day - No classes
Sept. 27 (Mon) Second 5-week session begins - see census and drop dates below calendar
Oct. 1 (Fri) Last day to apply for Fall 2021 graduation
Oct. 11 (Mon) Native American Day - No classes
Oct. 18 (Mon) Second 8-week session begins - see census and drop dates below calendar
Oct. 20 (Wed) Mid-term deficiency grades due by midnight
Oct. 25-Nov. 12 Tentative dates for continuing student pre-registration for summer and fall of 2022
Nov. 1 (Mon) Third 5-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
Nov. 5 (Fri) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the university entirely with no refund of university charges
Nov. 11 (Thur) Veterans Day holiday observed - No classes
Nov. 24 (Wed) No classes
Nov. 25-26 (Thur-Fri) Thanksgiving holiday - No classes
Dec. 8 (Wed) No classes
Dec. 9-15 (Thur-Wed) Final Examination period
Dec. 11 (Sat) Commencement events
Dec. 15 (Wed) Semester ends
Dec. 22 (Wed) Final grades due by midnight

Fall 2021 Section Dates

Standard full term 8/23 - 12/15
     Census date 9/2
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 11/5
First 8-week section 8/23 - 10/15
     Census date 8/27
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 9/29
Second 8-week section 10/18 - 12/15
     Census date 10/22
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 11/29
First 5-week section 8/23 - 9/24
     Census date 8/25
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 9/15
Second 5-week section 9/27 - 10/29
     Census date 9/29
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 10/21
Third 5-week section 11/1 - 12/7
     Census date 11/3
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 11/23

Fall 2021 Final Exam Schedule

December 9-15 (Thursday, Friday, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday)

Schedule for Classes Meeting on Monday, Wednesday, Friday Combinations
(MWF, M, W, MW, WF, MTWTh, MTWF, MTWThF, F)

Time class begins Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 AM Monday December 13 8:00 - 10:00
9:00 AM Friday December 10 8:00 - 10:00
10:00 AM Monday December 13 10:30 - 12:30
11:00 AM Friday December 10 10:30 - 12:30
12:00 PM Friday December 10 3:30 - 5:30
1:00 PM Monday December 13 1:00 - 3:00
2:00 PM Friday December 10 1:00 - 3:00
3:00 PM Monday December 13 3:30 - 5:30
4:00 PM Wednesday December 15 8:00 - 10:00
Schedule for Classes Meeting on Tuesday and Thursday Combination
(TTh, T, Th)
Time classes begin Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 AM Tuesday December 14 8:00 - 10:00
9:30 AM Tuesday December 14 10:30 - 12:30
11:00 AM Thursday December 9 10:30 - 12:30
12:00 AM Tuesday December 14 1:00 - 3:00
1:00 PM Thursday December 9 1:00 - 3:00
2:30 PM Tuesday December 14 3:30 - 5:30
4:00 PM Thursday December 9 3:30 - 5:30
Courses beginning 5:00 pm and later will be held during their regular scheduled times.
 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spring 2022 Academic Calendar

Jan. 8 (Sat) Residence Halls open for all students
Jan. 10 (Mon)

Classes begin
First 8-week and First 5-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar

Jan. 17 (Mon) Martin Luther King Jr. Day - no classes
Jan. 19 (Wed)

CENSUS DAY
Last day to register for any spring class to determine financial aid eligibility
Last day to add a full semester class
Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund

Jan. 20 (Thur) Tuition and Fees - Deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment.
Feb. 4 (Fri) Last day to apply for Spring 2022 and Summer 2022 graduation.
Feb. 14 (Mon) Second 5-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
Feb. 21 (Mon) President's Day - no classes
Mar. 7 (Mon) Second 8-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
Mar. 12-20 (Sat-Sun) Spring break
Residence Halls close on Friday, March 11 and reopen on Sunday, March 20
Mar. 21-April 8 (Mon-Mon) Tentative date for continuing student pre-registration for Spring 2023
Mar. 23 (Wed)

Mid-term deficiency grades due by midnight

Mar. 28 (Mon) Third 5-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
April 4 (Mon) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges.
April 15-17 (Fri-Sun) Easter Holiday - no classes beginning April 14 at 5:00 pm
April 18 (Mon) Classes resume
May 2-6 (Mon-Fri) Final examination period
May 6 (Fri) Semester ends
Residence Halls close
May 7 (Sat) Commencement - Fieldhouse
May 11 (Wed) Final grades due by midnight

Spring 2022 Section Dates

Standard Full Term 1/10 - 5/6
     Census 1/19
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 4/4
First 8-week Section 1/10 - 3/4
     Census 1/14
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 2/16
Second 8-week Section 3/7 - 5/6
     Census 3/11
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 4/20
First 5-week Section 1/10 - 2/11
     Census 1/12
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 2/2
Second 5-week Section 2/14 - 3/25
     Census 2/16
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 3/9
Third 5-week Section 3/28 - 4/29
     Census 3/30
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 4/20

Spring 2022 Final Exam Schedule
May 2-6

Schedule for Classes Meeting on Monday, Wednesday and Friday Combinations
(MWF, M, W, MW, WF, MTWTh, MTWF, MTWThF, F)
Time class begins Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Monday May 2 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:00 A.M. Wednesday May 4 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
10:00 A.M. Monday May 2 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Wednesday May 4 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Friday May 6 8:00 10:00 A.M.
1:00 P.M. Monday May 2 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:00 P.M. Wednesday May 4 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
3:00 P.M. Monday May 2 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Wednesday May 4 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
Schedule for Classes Meeting on Tuesday and Thursday Combinations
(TTh, T, Th)
Time class begins Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Tuesday May 3 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:30 A.M. Tuesday May 3 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Thursday May 5 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Tuesday May 3 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Thursday May 5 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:30 P.M. Tuesday May 3 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Thursday May 5 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
Courses beginning at 5:00 P.M. or later will be held during their regular scheduled time.

 

Summer 2022 Academic Calendar

May 9 (Mon) SD BOR Summer term begins
May 16 (Mon) Full 12-week and First 6-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
May 30 (Mon) Memorial Day - no classes
June 20 (Mon) Juneteenth Observed - no classes
June 27 (Mon) Second 6-week summer session begins - see census and drop dates below calendar
July 4 (Mon) Independence Day - no classes
Aug. 19 (Fri) SD BOR summer term ends

Summer 2022 Tentative Section Dates

Full Summer Term 5/16 - 8/5
     Census 5/23
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 7/13
First 6-week section 5/16 - 6/24
     Census 5/19
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 6/13
Second 6-week section 6/27 - 8/5
     Census 6/30
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 7/25
SD BOR Full Term 5/9 - 8/19
     Census 5/18
     Last day to withdrawal (LDW) 7/20
If your section dates are not listed, check your section-specific dates in your course syllabus or in Banner Self-Service Registration > Course Details.
Census - Last day to add or drop the course with a full refund
LDW - Last day to drop or withdraw from the course with no refund