Jan 17, 2022  
Graduate Catalog 2021-2022 
    
Graduate Catalog 2021-2022

Academic Calendar


   


Fall and spring terms are 16 weeks in length: Fall starts around late August or early September and goes through mid December.  Spring starts around early January and goes through mid-May.  Summer sessions vary in length from 4 weeks to 12 weeks, May through August, with classes typically meeting Monday through Friday.  Courses are available on the main campus in Madison, in Sioux Falls and online. 

Fall 2021 Academic Calendar

Aug. 21 (Sat) Residence Halls open for all students
Aug. 23 (Mon) Classes begin
First 8-week and First 5-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
Sept. 2 (Thur) CENSUS DAY; Last day to register for any fall class to determine financial aid eligibilty; Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund.
Sept. 3 (Fri) Tuition and Fees - Deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
Sept. 6 (Mon) Labor Day - No classes
Sept. 27 (Mon) Second 5-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
Oct. 1 (Fri)

Last day to apply for Fall 2021 graduation

Oct. 11 (Mon) Native American Day - No classes
Oct. 18 (Mon) Second 8-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
Oct. 20 (Wed) Mid-term deficiency grades due by midnight
Oct. 25-Nov. 12 (Mon-Fri) Tentative dates for continuing students pre-registration for Summer and Fall 2022.
Nov. 1 (Mon) Third 5-week sessions begin - see census and drop dates below calendar
Nov. 5 (Fri) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges
Nov. 11 (Mon) Veterans Day holiday observed - No classes
Nov. 24 (Wed) No classes
Nov. 25-26 (Thur-Fri) Thanksgiving holiday - No classes
Dec, 8 (Wed) No classes
Dec. 9-15 (Thur-Wed) Final Examination Period
Dec. 11 (Sat) Commencement events
Dec. 15 (Wed) Semester ends
Dec. 20 (Mon) Final grades due by midnight

Fall 2021 Section Dates
Cenus = Last day to add or drop the course with a full refund
LDW = Last day to drop or withdraw from the course with no refund

Standard Full Term 8/23 - 12/15
     Census 9/2
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 11/5
First 8-week section 8/23 - 10/15
     Census 8/27
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 9/29
Second 8-week section 10/18 - 12/15
     Census 10/22
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 11/29
First 5-week section 8/23 - 9/24
     Census 8/25
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 9/15
Second 5-week section 9/27 - 10/29
     Census 9/29
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 10/21
Third 5-week section 11/1 - 12/7
     Census 11/3
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 11/2


Fall 2021 Final Exam Schedule

December 9-15 (Thursday, Friday, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday)

Schedule for Classes meeting on Monday, Wednesday, Friday combinations
(MWF, M, W, MW, WF, MTWTh, MTWF, MTWThF, F)
Time class begins Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Monday December 13 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:00 A.M. Friday December 10 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
10:00 A.M. Monday December 13 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Friday December 10 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Friday December 10 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Monday December 13 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:00 P.M. Friday December 10 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
3:00 P.M. Monday December 13 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Wednesday December 15 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
Schedule of Classes meeting on Tuesday and Thursday combination (TTh, T, Th)
Time classes begin Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Tuesday December 14 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:30 A.M. Tuesday December 14 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Thursday December 9 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 A.M. Tuesday December 14 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Thursday December 9 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:30 P.M. Tuesday December 14 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Thursday December 9 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
  Courses beginning 5:00 P.M. and later will be held during their regular scheduled times


Spring 2022 Academic Calendar

Jan. 8 (Sat) Residence halls open for all students
Jan. 10 (Mon) Classes begin
First 8-week and First 5-week session begins - see census and dropo dates below calendar
Jan. 17 (Mon) Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - no classes
Jan. 19 (Wed) CENSUS DAY
Last day to register for any spring class to determine financial aid eligibility
Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
Jan. 20 (Thur) Tuition and fees - deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
Feb. 4 (Fri) Last day to apply for Spring 2022 and Summer 2022 graduation
Feb. 14 (Mon) Second 5-week session begins - see census and drop dates below calendar
Feb. 21 (Mon) President's Day - no classes
Mar. 4 (Fri) Midterms
Mar. 7 (Mon) Second 8-week session begins - see census and drop dates below calendar
Mar. 11 (Fri) Midterms deficiency grades due by midnight
Mar. 12-20 (Sat-Sun) Spring break
Residence Halls close Friday, March 11 and reopen on Sunday, March 20
Mar. 21-April 8 Tentative dates for continuing student pre-registration for Spring 2023
Mar. 28 (Mon) Third 5-week session begins - see census and drop dates below calendar
April 4 (Mon) Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges.
April 15-17 (Fri-Sun) Easter Holiday - no classes beginning April 14 after 5:00 pm
April 18 (Mon) Classes resume
May 2-6 (Mon-Fri) Final examination period;
May 6 (Fri) Semester ends; Residence Halls close
May 7 (Sat) Commencement Ceremonies
May 11 (Wed) Final grades due
Note: Dates and events are subject to change.  Changes will be communicated to campus via email and other means as appropriate

Spring 2022 Final Exam Schedule

May 2-6

Schedule of classes meeting om Monday, Wednesday and Friday combinations
(MWF, M, W, MW, WF, MTWTh, MTWF, MTWThF, F)
Time class begins Date of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Monday May 2 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:00 A.M. Wednesday May 4 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
10:00 A.M. Monday May 2 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Wednesday May 4 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Friday May 6 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
1:00 P.M. Monday May 2 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:00 P.M. Wednesday May 4 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
3:00 P.M. Monday May 2 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Wednesday May 4 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
Schedule of classes meeting on Tuesday and Thursday combinations (TTh, T, Th)
Time class begins Day of Final Date of Final Time of Final
8:00 A.M. Tuesday May 3 8:00 - 10:00 A.M.
9:30 A.M. Tuesday May 3 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
11:00 A.M. Thursday May 5 10:30 - 12:30 P.M.
12:00 P.M. Tuesday May 3 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
1:00 P.M. Thursday May 5 1:00 - 3:00 P.M.
2:30 P.M. Tuesday May 3 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
4:00 P.M. Thursday May 5 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
  Courses beginning 5:00 P.M. and later will be held during their regular scheduled times.

Spring 2022 Section Dates
Cenus = Last day to add or drop the course with a full refund
LDW = Last day to drop or withdraw from the course with no refund

Standard Full Term 1/10 - 5/6
     Census 1/19
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 4/4
First 8-week section 1/10 - 3/4
     Census 1/14
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 2/16
Second 8-week section 3/7 - 5/6
     Census 3/11
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 4/20
First 5-week section 1/10 - 2/11
     Census 1/12
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 2/2
Second 5-week section 2/14 - 3/25
     Census 2/16
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 3/9
Third 5-week section 3/28 - 4-29
     Census 3/30
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 4/20


Summer 2022 Academic Calendar

May 9 (Mon) SD BOR summer term begins
May 16 (Mon) Full 12-week and first 6-week session begins - see census and drop dates below calendar
May 30 (Mon) Memorial Day - no classes
June 20 (Mon) Juneteenth Observance - no classes
June 27 (Mon) Second 6-week session beings - see census and drop dates below calendar
July 4 (Mon) Independence Day holiday - no classes
August 19 (Fri) SD BOR summer term ends

Summer 2022 Tentative Section Dates
If your section dates are not listed below, check your section-specific dates in your course syllabus or in Banner Self-Service Resitration>Course Details.
Cenus = Last day to add or drop the course with a full refund
LDW = Last day to drop or withdraw from the course with no refund

DSU Full Summer Term 5/16 - 8/5
     Census 5/23
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 7/13
DSU First Summer Session 5/16 - 6/24
     Census 5/19
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 6/13
DSU Second Summer Session 6/27 - 8/5
     Census 6/3
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 7/25
SDBOR Full Term 5/9 - 8/19
     Census 5/18
     Last day to withdraw (LDW) 7/20